No Fglrx, No RadeonHd… Simply Ati-Dri

I’ve tried all of Linux ati driver alternatives… And I’ve never been so excited about performances and functionalities.

Especially with the Fglrx ones. One of the motivations that push me to find an alternative is with catalyst drivers (from ATI) you can’t change user without logging out from your account.

I was looking for something that was stable and in the same time allows me to use compiz.

So I’ve tried RadeonHd drivers… in every version… From the stable one to the git one.

Putting “radeonhd” in the xorg.conf after installing them you simply get a grey window and X restarts.

My start point is this:

Processor: Q8200 clocked to 2.92 Ghz

Video Card: Gainward HD4850 1Gb DDR3

So this is the problem… And this is the solution…

And then replace your previous driver in the xorg.conf with

Driver      “radeon”
So in the end i also put in this post the other options I’ve applied to my xorg.conf
Option “AccelMethod” “exa”
Option “DRI” “on”
Option “ColorTiling” “on”
Option “EnablePageFlip” “on”
Option “EXAVSync” “yes”
Option “RenderAccel” “on”
Option “XAANoOffscreenPixmaps” “true”

Section “DRI”
Group        “video”
Mode         0666
EndSection

Section “ServerFlags”
Option “AIGLX” “true”
EndSection

Section “Extensions”
Option “Composite” “Enable”
EndSection
And these are the modules
Section “Module”
Load  “dri”
Load  “dbe”
Load  “drm”
Load  “extmod”
Load  “dri2”
Load  “glx”
Load  “xtrap”
Load  “freetype”
EndSection

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “No Fglrx, No RadeonHd… Simply Ati-Dri”

  1. Jaime says :

    I’ve been using xf86-video-ati and ati-dri for several months. When I installed it, someone advised me to remove the xorg.conf file. Now, I don’t have any xorg.conf and it actually works. I think that HAL is permitting the absence of xorg.conf
    Do you know if there’s any advantage (in performace) by writing your custom xorg.conf?

  2. gianvito says :

    The differences are various options you can introduce with the xorg.conf (and the optimizations related to the ones you add). In every thing you can automate or you can manually edit your configuration files. If you know what to do my advice is to edit personally every little thing of your system.

  3. wag says :

    Hi, works great exept Firefox:
    The loading wheel in unfocused tabs generates a flicker.
    Also do the expand-arrows from the url- and search-bar.
    Other apps (f.e. chromium) do not have those problems.

    I tried deactivating and adding some more Options/Modules, The “AccelMethod” “exa” was the only one affecting this problem.

    (As far as i can remember, i had those problems with Ubuntu 9.10 too..)

    Do you have any ideas concerning this?
    Thank you

  4. gianvito says :

    I never had those problems. It could be related to a driver problem. We’ve to say ATI drivers for linux will never be as NVIDIA ones. If you use ATI and linux togheter (like me) these problems will never leave you in peace.
    I’m sure there is someone on another site or forum that had your problem and knows a workaround for it. Try googling and good luck :)

  5. Ali Geyik says :

    $ aticonfig –set-pcs-str=DDX,ForceXAA,TRUE
    can be the cure for black artifacts

Leave a Reply

